African Food Prize

The African Food Prize began as the Yara Prize which was launched in 2005 by the Yara International ASA in Norway to honor achievements in African agriculture.

The award today, focuses on recognizing extraordinary women, men and institutions whose outstanding contributions to African agriculture are forging new era of sustainable food security and economic opportunity that elevates all Africans.

The African Food Prize shines the spotlight on achievements and innovations with transformative power that can be scaled and replicated across the continent to eliminate hunger and poverty and provide a vital new source of employment and income.

Prize money

$100,000 awarded to one winner


  • Nominee must have demonstrable achievement in reducing poverty and hunger and or improving food and nutrition security in measurable terms.
  • Individuals, or identifiable group of individuals as well as established institutions, associations, organizations or government bodies that has contributed to the overall objective of the prize.
  • Contributed in providing a vital source of income and or employment in measurable terms.
  • Achievement has the potential for transformative change through scalability, replication and sustainability.
  • Contributed to increased awareness and cooperation among African audiences and organizations.

How to apply

  • Winners are nominated by others. Self-nomination is not allowed.

Click this click to nominate

Management Team

See all author post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are makes.