Cisco Certification Career Guide – Part 1

Cisco certification validates your computer networking skills in deploying, maintaining, securing and operating a medium-sized network using Cisco technologies. As a Cisco certified professional can install, configure, and operate LAN, WAN, and dial access services for small networks (100 nodes or fewer), including but not limited to use of these protocols: IP, IGRP, Serial, Frame Relay, IP RIP, VLANs, RIP, Ethernet, Access Lists.

Cisco Systems is an American multinational technology company headquartered in San Jose, California, that designs, manufactures and sells networking equipment worldwide. It is the largest networking company in the world.

The Cisco training and certification follows a hierarchical structure which include:

  • Entry Level
  • Associate level
  • Professional Level
  • Expert Level
  • Architect Level 

Cisco Certification- Cisco Entry Level

At the entry level, the following certifications are required in fields of interest.

1.    Cisco Certified Entry Networking Technician (CCENT) comprises of Design, Routing and Switching, Security and Wireless.

 Cisco Certified Entry Networking Technician

This is an entry-level Cisco training and certification which validates the skills required for entry level network support positions. After the completion of the Cisco CCENT training and certification, students would have the knowledge and skills to install, operate, and troubleshoot a small enterprise branch network, including basic network security.

Required exam(s) and training:

The Cisco (Interconnecting Cisco Networking Devices Part 1) 100-105 ICND1.


Cisco Certification-  Associate level

At the Associate level, the following certifications are required in fields of interest.

Cisco CCNA

The available areas of training and certifications are CCNA Cloud, CCNA Collaboration, CCNA Cyber Ops, CCNA Data Center, CCDA, CCNA Industrial, CCNA Routing and Switching, CCNA Security, CCNA Service Provider, CCNA Wireless.

1.    Cisco Certified Network Associate (Cloud Certification): This is a job role focused certification and training program that helps Cloud engineers, Cloud Administrators, and Network Engineers to develop, advance, and validate their cloud skill set. With a CCNA Cloud certification, you will obtain the skills to perform entry-level provisioning and support of Cisco cloud solutions.

Required exam(s) and training:

210-451 CLDFND              Understanding Cisco Cloud Fundamentals (CLDFND)

210-455 CLDADM            Introducing Cisco Cloud Administration (CLDADM)

2.    Cisco Certified Network Associate (Collaboration Certification): This Cisco training and certification is designed for network video engineers, collaboration engineers, IP telephony and IP network engineers who want to develop and advance their collaboration and video skills in line with the convergence of voice, video, data and mobile applications.

Required exam(s) and training:

 210-060 CICD                  Implementing Cisco Collaboration Devices (CICD)

210-065 CIVND                 Implementing Cisco Video Network Devices, Part 1 (CIVND1)

Implementing Cisco Video Network Devices, Part 2 (CIVND2)

3.    Cisco Certified Network Associate (Cyber Ops certification): This Cisco training and certification prepares candidates to begin a career working with associate-level cybersecurity analysts within security operations centers.

Required exam(s) and training:

210-250 SECFND              Understanding Cisco Cybersecurity Fundamentals (SECFND)

210-255 SECOPS               Implementing Cisco Cybersecurity Operations (SECOPS)

4.    Cisco Certified Network Associate (Data Center): This Cisco training and Certification is a job-role-focused training and certification program that allows you to maximize your investment in your education and increase the value of your data center network.

Required exam(s) and training:

640-911 DCICN                                 Introducing Cisco Data Center Networking (DCICN)

640-916 DCICT                                  Introducing Cisco Data Center Technologies (DCICT)

5.    Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCDA):  This Cisco training and Certification program focuses on design methodologies and objectives, addressing and routing protocols, and network expansion considerations within basic campus, data center, security, voice, and wireless networks.

Required exam(s) and training:

200-310 DESGN                 Designing for Cisco Internetwork Solutions (DESGN) v3.0

6.    Cisco Certified Network Associate (Industrial): This Cisco training and Certification is for plant administrators, control system engineers and traditional network engineers in the manufacturing, process control, and oil and gas industries, who will be involved with the convergence of IT and Industrial networks. This certification provides candidates the necessary skills to successfully implement and troubleshoot the most common industry standard protocols while leveraging best practices needed for today’s connected networks.

Required exam(s) and training:

200-601 IMINS2                                              Managing Industrial Networking for Manufacturing with Cisco Technologies (IMINS2)

7.    Cisco Certified Network Associate (Routing and Switching certification):  This Cisco training and Certification will not only prepare you with the knowledge of foundational technologies, but ensure you stay relevant with skill sets needed for the adoption of next generation technologies.

Required exam(s) and training:

200-125 CCNA                   Interconnecting Cisco Networking Devices: Accelerated (CCNAX)


100-105 ICND1                  Interconnecting Cisco Networking Devices Part 1 (ICND1)


200-101 ICND2 v2.0

Last day to test: September 24, 2016        Interconnecting Cisco Networking Devices Part 2 (ICND2)


200-105 ICND2 v3.0         Interconnecting Cisco Networking Devices Part 2 (ICND2)

8.    Cisco Certified Network Associate (Security):  This Cisco training and Certification validates associate-level knowledge and skills required to secure Cisco networks. With a CCNA Security certification, a network professional demonstrates the skills required to develop a security infrastructure, recognize threats and vulnerabilities to networks, and mitigate security threats.

Required exam(s) and training:

210-260 IINS                      Implementing Cisco Network Security (IINS)

9.    Cisco Certified Network Associate (Service Provider) certification is for service provider network engineers, technicians and designers who focus on the latest in Service Provider industry core networking technologies and trends. CCNA SP certified individuals deploy, maintain and improve carrier-grade network infrastructures.

Required exam(s) and training:

640-875 SPNGN1             Building Cisco Service Provider Next-Generation Networks, Part 1 (SPNGN1)

640-878 SPNGN2             Building Cisco Service Provider Next-Generation Networks, Part 2 (SPNGN2)

10.    Cisco Certified Network Associate (Wireless certification):  This Cisco training and Certification and amplify your basic Cisco Wireless LAN’s configuration, monitoring, troubleshooting and support skills for optimal performance of Cisco Wireless networks.

Required exam(s) and training:

200-355 WIFUND             Implementing Cisco Wireless Network Fundamentals (WIFUND)


In subsequent guides about Cisco Certification Series, look out for:

  • Cisco Professional Level Certification
  • Cisco Expert Level Certification
  • Cisco Architect Level Certification

One thought on “Cisco Certification Career Guide – Part 1”

  1. Like!! Great article post.Really thank you! Really Cool.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *